Gallery: BMW LMR V12

All I By Guest Contributor I December 22, 2014
Take a look at these images of the German automaker’s only outright 24 Hours of Le Mans champion, courtesy of our friends at Motorsport Retro. Weighing in at just under a ton (1984lbs), it featured an offset driving position and a 60 degree, 5990cc normally aspirated V12 engine with around 580 horsepower. It was the BMW LMR V12, and in 1999 it was the champion of Le Mans.
Some five years earlier, BMW had supplied the engine for the legendary McLaren F1 GTR – the car which won the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1995. The BMW LMR V12 however, would be the first (and so far, only) BMW car to win the iconic event.
The drivers were Formula 1 competitors Pierluigi Martini and Joachim Winkelhock, as well as Frenchman Yannick Dalmas, who won the 24 Hours of Le Mans a total of four times during his career – including the aforementioned 1995 victory driving McLaren for Kokusai Kaihatsu Racing.
Victory for BMW in 1999 was massive, however the BMW LMR V12 was far from a one-hit-wonder. That year it also won the 12 hours of Sebring, and three other ALMS races before the season was out.
Technology moves fast in motor racing, and by the time 2000 rolled around the competition was much stiffer. Furthermore, BMW had turned their focus to Formula 1, meaning that the LMR’s from the previous years were essentially rebooted and rolled out for endurance racing in 2000. Despite this, the LMR still managed to win in Charlotte and at Silverstone.


The Guide to Road Racing: Winding Road Magazine's ultimate guide to getting your start in racing.

Table of Contents

Related Articles

WRR Gallery: 2016 Battery Tender Global Mazda MX-5 Cup at MRLS

Before heading to Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca for the inaugural race of the  Battery Tender Global Mazda MX-5 Cup series two of Winding Road Racing’s…

May 16, 2016
Gallery: 2016 McLaren 650S GT3

While McLaren’s new racer is set to debut next month at the 2016 Geneva Motor Show, the company decided to take the wraps off the new car a bit early in this tasty collection of images.

February 15, 2016
Highlights from the 2015 SCCA Runoffs

Ten SCCA National Champions were crowned on Friday at the SCCA Runoffs Presented by Garmin VIRB, following 14 lap races at Daytona International Speedway. Check out the race recaps and official results below for all the details.

September 28, 2015
Highlights from the 2015 NASA Eastern States Championships

The second annual NASA Eastern States Championships presented by Toyo Tires crowned it class winners this past weekend at Virginia International Raceway. Under perfect 80-degree and sunny conditions the 300+ NASA competitors took to the 3.27 mile, 17-turn VIR circuit to settle who would be 2015 NASA Eastern States Champions.

September 08, 2015
WRR TV: Chris Harris Behind the Wheel of the Daytona-Winning Jaguar XJR-9

Rain usually does not spell ideal track conditions for getting behind the wheel of a race car for the first time, but that doesn’t deter oversteer enthusiast Chris Harris as he pilots the Daytona 24 Hour winning Group C Jaguar XJR-9 around Brands Hatch Racing circuit in West Kingsdown.

January 26, 2015


Get the latest driving and racing news straight to your inbox.

no thanks

Begin typing your search above and press return to search.